LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT of REVENUE

Louisiana Consumer Use Tax

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:302(K)

Louisiana Department of Revenue Revenue Processing Center P.O. Box 3138 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3138 Telephone: (855) 307-3893

Questions about the completion of this form should be sent to <u>Sales.Inquiries@LA.Gov</u>.

USE THIS FORM FOR PURCHASES MADE FROM APRIL 1, 2016 TO DECEMBER 31, 2017.

Under Louisiana Revised Statute 47:302(K), Louisiana state sales tax law requires you to file and pay a Consumer Use Tax directly to the Louisiana Department of Revenue.

Individuals who operate a business and qualify as a dealer under Louisiana Revised Statute 47:301(4) and are required to be registered for sales tax purposes, may not use this consumer use tax return to report their use tax. The tax must be reported on the dealer's state and local sales tax returns.

The Louisiana use tax was enacted in 1934 to prevent retailers located out-of-state from having an unfair competitive advantage against in-state retailers who have to charge the sales tax. Individuals are responsible for paying use tax on an out-of-state purchase when the item purchased is subject to the Louisiana sales tax and the retailer making the sale does not collect sales tax on the sale. Items that are subject to sales tax include computers and other electronic equipment, canned software, books, audio and video tapes, compact discs, records, clothing, appliances, furniture and other home furnishings, sporting goods, jewelry, etc. Out-of-state retailers include mail-order companies, television shopping networks, firms selling over the Internet, and retailers located outside Louisiana.

The Louisiana use tax is calculated at the rate of 9 percent. This 9 percent rate, which includes 4 percent to be distributed by the Department of Revenue to local governments, is in lieu of the actual local rate in effect in your area, and is payable regardless of whether the actual combined state and local rate in your area is equal to, higher than, or lower than 9 percent.

To pay your Consumer Use Tax, complete the payment coupon in this brochure. Enter the information requested in the spaces provided on the coupon. Multiply that total by 9 percent (.09). The resulting figure is the amount of Consumer Use Tax you owe. You may use the attached worksheet to track your purchases. Keep the worksheet for your records. Enter the total purchase price from the work sheet on the designated line on the coupon. Detach and mail the completed coupon along with your payment to the address listed in the black box at the top of the form.

Questions concerning Consumer Use Tax should be directed to the Louisiana Department of Revenue at (855) 307-3893.

R-1035 (4/16revised 11/30/2018	3)		_		
		Detach & send payment to:			
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT of REVENUE	CONSUMER USE TAX	Louisiana Department of Revenue P.O. Box 3138 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3138		ate of Purchase (mm/dd/yyyy)	
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE.					
Social Security Number	Phone Numb	ber			
Name			Total Purchase Price	.00	
Mailing Address	City	State	Tax Rate	x .09	
ZIP		1	┘ otal Use Tax Due	.00	
	Signature		Date (mm/dd/yyyy)	4303	
	X			4303	

CONSUMER USE TAX WORKSHEET

Use this schedule to track your purchases. DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM.

Purchase	Amount	Purchase	Amount
		TOTAL	
		TOTAL	